The Indian Institutes of Technology (popularly known as IIT’s) are institutions of national importance established through an Act of Parliament for fostering excellence in education, There are fifteen IIT’s at present, located in Bhubaneswar, Bombay (Mumbai), Delhi, Gandhinagar, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Madras (Chennai), Mandi, Patna, Punjab, Rajasthan and Roorkee. Over the years IIT’s have created world class educational platforms dynamically sustained through internationally recognized research based on excellent infrastructural facilities. The faculty and alumni of IIT’s continue making huge impact in all sectors of society. Both in India and abroad. Institute of Technology. Banaras Hindu University (IT - BHU), Varanasi and Indian School of Mines University (ISM), Dhanbad, are the oldest institutions in India and are known for their immense contributions towards society at large and for science and technology in particular.

The primary objectives behind such institutions are to:

  • Build a solid foundation of scientific and technical knowledge and thus to prepare competent and motivated engineers and scientists.

  • 4Create environment for freedom of thought, cultivate vision, encourage growth, develop personality and self-discipline for pursuit of excellence.

  • Kindle entrepreneurial streak. All of the above help to prepare the students admitted to these institutions for successful professional and social lives.

Today, alumni of these institutions occupy key positions in industry and academia in India and abroad. Each institute has well-equipped modern laboratories, state-of-the -art computer network and well stocked technical library. Teaching methods rely on direct personal contact between the teachers and the students and the use of traditional and modern instructional techniques. Students live in a pleasant and intellectually stimulating environment with people having similar goals and aspirations, which is an exciting and unique experience.

IITs and Other Related Institutions

The Newly Started IITs from 2008 are